

University of Toledo Unified Team

Special Recognition Award May 2025

The third time might be the charm but it also takes a little bit of luck and a lot of hard work along the way.

Tonight, we are here to honor the University of Toledo Unified team, winners of the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA) basketball championship.

The Rockets made their third trip to the national tournament, held last month at the University of Wisconsin, and brought home the national title. The team is comprised of:

- University of Toledo students: Garett Bergmoser, Aaron Jones, Liam McFerron, and Braden Vineyard.
- **Special Olympics athletes:** Dominique Larde, Thomas Laube, Ian Liebentritt, Skylar Miller, and Jerry Mitchell.
- Head coach: Cole Schuette.

There was a total of nine teams in the unified division of the tournament. Toledo ended up playing five games, dancing their way through the bracket to become the last team standing. The Rockets beat the University of Michigan twice, University of Louisville, and the host Badgers before taking down the University of Iowa in the championship game.

Garett, Aaron, Liam, Braden, Dominque, Thomas, Ian, Skylar, Jerry, and, of course, Coach Cole, you got the big prize last month. This month, this Board salutes your title run with the May 2025 Special Recognition Award. Congratulations to the national champions!